Ph.D. Admission Information

Regular Admission

To be eligible as a regular student in the Ph.D. program in Molecular Biology, you must:

  • have a M.Sc. degree in an appropriate discipline or an equivalent diploma or be promoted from graduate to postgraduate studies without writing a thesis (for students enrolled in the Molecular Biology program).
  • hold a master’s degree with a minimum grade-point average of 3.3 out of 4.3
  • ensure that a professor accredited by the program agrees to supervise your research project,
  • provide an acceptation letter from a research director
  • provide 2 letters of recommandation;
  • provide attestation of internship(s), if applicable;
  • provide a curriculum vitae;
  • provide a letter of motivation;
  • provide a detailed description of your M.Sc. research project and one of your future Ph.D. project (if you already have a research supervisor)
  • submit to the Registrar’s Office an application for admission in due and proper form in accordance with established rules and procedures. Students who need help to understand the French terms and to fill the admission form may download this bilingual document.

Please consult our admission guide for the students who want to start a Ph.D.

Please take note that you must submit your application for admission

  • before February 1st, for the summer session
  • before February 1st (1st cohort) or May 1st (2nd cohort), for the fall session
  • before September  15th, for the winter session

International students should apply for admission at least 6 months before the desired date of the beginning of the studies.

Outside these dates, the files will be reviewed on a case by case basis.

Once your application for admission has been submitted, your complete file will be reviewed by the Molecular Biology Programs Graduate Studies Committee. You will be given a formal response after the meeting of the Committee.

 Accelerated tracks

Please refer to the support document that the FESP has produced on the various accelerated tracks to the Ph.D.

Direct Access

This program allows you direct access from undergraduate to Ph.D. level and an opportunity to apply for a scholarship for direct access to the Ph.D. program from an undergraduate program.

If you want to follow this path to enrol in the Ph.D. program, you must:

  • have a degree of doctor in medicine (M.D.), dentistry (D.M.D.), veterinary medicine (D.M.V.) or a Bachelor of Science degree (B.Sc.) in an appropriate field, or a diploma judged equivalent.
  • have a minimum undergraduate grade point average corresponding to 3.7 at the Université de Montréal, unless, in the opinion of the Dean, experience or studies subsequent to the undergraduate degree allow to conclude that you possess skills required to continue graduate studies;
  • provide a curriculum vitae and two letters of recommendation.

In addition, you will need to provide proof of relevant research experience that allows you to qualify for a Ph.D. program.

The Ph.D. program by direct access includes 101 credits, of which

  • at least 15 credits must be taken at M.Sc. and Ph.D. level (21 credits in the case of the Systems Biology option)
  • 86 credits attributed to the research project and written thesis.

For students who have achieved a progression honor, some courses may be credited. Please contact the program office.

Fast-track M.Sc. to Ph.D. program (for students already enrolled in the Molecular Biology program)

The fast-track M.Sc. to Ph.D. program allows you, under certain academic and temporal conditions, direct access from M.Sc. to Ph.D. level without writing a thesis and an opportunity to apply for a scholarship for the fast-track M.Sc. to Ph.D. program.

To be eligible, you must have a minimum graduate grade point average corresponding to 3.7, have completed your undergraduate course and three full-time terms in the M.Sc. program. Applications for the fast-track M.Sc. to Ph.D. passage must be submitted before the end of the 3rd term (at the latest one month before the beginning of a term). The procedure is as follows:

  1.  You must submit a letter of application for accelerated Ph.D. passage, countersigned by your supervisor, to the director of the programs.
  2.  After obtaining the approval of the director of the programs, you should form a committee including the head of your unit or his/her representative (chairman of the committee) and a member external to the above-mentioned unit. This committee must be approved by the head of your unit and the director of the programs. Nomination of jury form.
  3.  You will need to prepare a report of 15 double-spaced pages. This document should be divided into two parts: 10 pages on the current research project and 5 pages on your proposed Ph.D. project (the latter should be mainly written by yourself).

If there is any submitted article relating to your main project, this article may be used as the first part of the report. In case of multiple authors, the research supervisor should provide a letter explaining your contribution.

We highly recommend you to present a neat and well organized work.

You must submit this report to the members of the committee as well as to the director of the programs along with your curriculum vitae and your recent transcript within two weeks after submitting your application.

The committee will examine your file within the next two weeks and may make a recommendation or request an oral presentation. If you meet the committee with an oral presentation and the accelerated passage is recommended, this meeting will take the place of the first thesis committee. If the accelerated passage is accepted without oral presentation, there will be a thesis committee held in the term following the passage. The chairman will make a recommendation to the director of the programs (a brief report which will be added to your file).

With reference to this recommendation, the director of the programs will notify you of his/her decision. In the case of acceptance, you will apply for admission to the Ph.D. In the case of a refusal, you should continue your M.Sc. program.

Direct Ph.D. passage without written thesis (for students already enrolled in the program)

The direct passage allows you direct access to the Ph.D. without written thesis. To be eligible, you must have a minimum graduate grade point average corresponding to 3.4, have completed your minimum course work and three terms of full-time M.Sc. program. Applications for direct Ph.D. passage must be submitted between the 18th and the 24th month (at the latest one month before the beginning of a term). The procedure is as follows:

  1.  You must submit a letter of application for direct Ph.D. passage, countersigned by your supervisor, to the director of the programs.
  2. After obtaining the approval of the director of the programs, you should form a committee including the head of your unit or his/her representative (chairman of the committee) and a member external to the above-mentioned unit. This committee must be approved by the head of your unit and the director of the programs. Nomination of jury form.
  3.  You will need to prepare a report of 15 double-spaced pages.  This document should be divided into two parts: 10 pages on the current research project and 5 pages on your proposed Ph.D. project (the latter should be mainly written by yourself).

If there is any submitted article relating to your main project, this article may be used as the first part of the report. In case of multiple authors, the research supervisor should provide a letter explaining your contribution.

We highly recommend you to present a neat and well organized work.

You must submit this report to the members of the committee as well as to the director of the programs along with your curriculum vitae and your recent transcript within two weeks after submitting your application.

The committee will examine your file within the next two weeks and may make a recommendation or request an oral presentation. If you meet the committee with an oral presentation and the direct passage is recommended, this meeting will take the place of the first thesis committee. If the direct passage is accepted without oral presentation, there will be a thesis committee held in the term following the passage. The chairman will make a recommendation to the director of the programs (a brief report which will be added to your file).

With reference to this recommendation, the director of the programs will notify you of his/her decision. In the case of acceptance, you will apply for admission to the Ph.D. In the case of a refusal, you should start preparing your master’s thesis.

Scholarships

All our students receive scholarships. You will be also encouraged to submit applications for external scholarships to expand your CV.

Specific modalities for Ph.D.

The minimum Ph.D. course work duration is 6 terms. The maximum course work duration is 5 years.

You should have completed all required courses before the end of the 5th term of enrolment and your qualifying exam before the end of the 6th term.

These terms remain unchanged in the case of an accelerated passage.

Enrollment status:

  • full time: 6 terms
  • redaction: until the term of submitting your Ph.D. thesis
  • correction / assessment: the term following your thesis submission

Please see also the academic rules issued by the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

This post is also available in: French

© Programmes de biologie moléculaire - Faculté de médecine de l'Université de Montréal

Admission au doctorat

Admission régulière

Si vous désirez vous inscrire comme étudiant au doctorat en biologie moléculaire, vous devez :

  • être détenteur d’une maîtrise ès sciences dans une discipline appropriée ou d’un grade équivalent ou obtenir un passage de deuxième à troisième cycle sans rédaction de mémoire (pour les étudiants inscrits en biologie moléculaire);
  • avoir obtenu votre diplôme de 2e cycle avec une note minimale de 3.3/4.3;
  • vous assurer qu’un professeur affecté au programme accepte de vous diriger dans votre projet de recherche;
  • fournir une lettre d’acceptation d’un directeur de recherche
  • fournir deux lettres de recommandation;
  • fournir des attestation(s) de stage, si applicable;
  • fournir une lettre de motivation;
  • fournir un curriculum vitæ;
  • fournir une description détaillée de votre projet de recherche de maîtrise et de votre futur projet de doctorat (si vous avez déjà votre directeur de recherche);
  • soumettre au Bureau du registraire une demande d’admission en bonne et due forme selon les règles et procédures établies. Students who need help to understand the French terms and to fill the admission form may download this bilingual document.

N’hésitez pas à consulter notre guide d’admission pour les étudiants qui souhaitent débuter un doctorat.

Notez que vous devez soumettre votre demande d’admission

  • avant le 1er février pour commencer à la session d’été
  • avant le 1er février (1ère cohorte) ou le 1er mai (2e cohorte) pour commencer à la session d’automne
  • avant le 15 septembre pour commencer à la session d’hiver

Les étudiants internationaux devraient faire leur demande d’admission au moins 6 mois avant la date souhaitée du début des études.

En dehors de ces dates, les dossiers seront examinés au cas par cas.

Une fois votre demande d’admission déposée, votre dossier complet sera examiné par le comité des études supérieures des programmes de biologie moléculaire. Une réponse officielle vous sera donnée à l’issue de la réunion du comité.

Voies accélérées

Accès direct

L’accès direct vous permet d’accéder directement du 1er cycle au doctorat et de pouvoir postuler à une bourse pour l’accès direct depuis le baccalauréat.

Si vous désirez utiliser cette voie pour vous inscrire au doctorat, vous devez:

  • être titulaire d’un diplôme de docteur en médecine (M.D.) ou en médecine dentaire (D.M.D.) ou en médecine vétérinaire (D.M.V.) ou d’un baccalauréat ès sciences (B.Sc.) dans une option appropriée, ou d’un diplôme jugé équivalent;
  • avoir obtenu une moyenne minimale au grade de premier cycle correspondant à 3,7 à l’Université de Montréal, à moins que, de l’avis du doyen, une expérience ou des études subséquentes à l’obtention du grade de premier cycle permettent de conclure que le candidat possède des aptitudes marquées pour la poursuite des études de troisième cycle;
  • fournir deux lettres de recommandation et un curriculum vitæ.

De plus, vous devrez fournir la preuve que vous avez une (des) expérience(s) de recherche pertinente vous permettant de vous qualifier pour un doctorat.

Le programme de Ph.D. par accès direct comprend 101 crédits dont

  • un minimum de 15 crédits de cours de 2e et 3e cycles (21 crédits dans le cas de l’option biologie des systèmes)
  • 86 crédits attribués à la recherche et à la rédaction de la thèse.

Pour les étudiants qui ont réalisé un cheminement honor, certains cours peuvent être crédités. Veuillez contacter le bureau des programmes.

Passage accéléré au doctorat (pour les étudiants déjà inscrits au programme)

Le passage accéléré vous permet, sous certaines conditions académiques et temporelles, d’accéder directement de la maîtrise au doctorat sans présenter de mémoire et de pouvoir postuler à une bourse de passage accéléré.

Pour être admissible, vous devez avoir obtenu une moyenne minimale au grade de deuxième cycle correspondant à A-; avoir complété votre scolarité minimale et fait trois trimestres à plein temps. Vous devez en faire la demande avant la fin du 3e trimestre (au plus tard un mois avant le début d’un trimestre).

La procédure à suivre est la suivante :

  1. Vous devez d’abord en faire la demande, par lettre contresignée par votre directeur, au directeur des programmes.
  2. Après obtention de l’accord du directeur des programmes, vous devez former un comité dont les membres seront le responsable d’unité d’attache ou son représentant (président du comité), et un membre externe à l’unité d’attache. Ce comité doit être approuvé par le responsable de l’unité d’attache et le directeur des programmes.
    Formulaire de nomination de jury.
  3. Vous devrez préparer un rapport de 15 pages à double interligne. Ce document se divise en deux parties: 10 pages sur l’avancement des travaux en cours et 5 pages sur votre projet de doctorat proposé (cette partie doit être développée principalement par vous-même).

Si vous avez soumis un article pour publication sur votre projet principal, cet article peut remplacer la première partie du travail. S’il s’agit d’un article à auteurs multiples, le directeur de recherche doit, par lettre, expliquer votre contribution.

Nous vous encourageons à présenter un travail soigné et bien organisé.

Ce travail doit être remis aux membres du comité ainsi qu’au directeur des programmes accompagné de votre curriculum vitae et de votre relevé de notes récent dans les deux semaines suivant la demande.

Le comité a ensuite deux semaines pour étudier votre dossier, faire une recommandation ou demander la tenue d’une présentation orale. Si vous rencontrez le comité avec une présentation orale et que le passage accéléré est recommandé, cette réunion tiendra lieu de premier comité de suivi. Si le passage accéléré est accepté sans présentation orale, vous devrez avoir un comité de suivi dans le trimestre qui suit son passage. Le président doit ensuite faire une recommandation au directeur des programmes (court rapport qui sera mis à votre dossier).

Suite à cette recommandation, le directeur des programmes vous avisera de sa décision. Dans le cas d’une acceptation, vous devez faire une demande d’admission au doctorat. Dans le cas d’un refus, vous devez poursuivre votre maîtrise.

Passage direct au doctorat sans rédaction de mémoire (pour les étudiants déjà inscrits au programme)

Le passage direct vous permet d’accéder directement au doctorat sans présenter de mémoire. Pour cela, vous devez avoir obtenu une moyenne minimale au grade de deuxième cycle correspondant à 3,4; avoir complété votre scolarité  minimale et fait trois trimestres à plein temps. Vous devez en faire la demande entre le 18e et le 24e mois (au plus tard un mois avant le début d’un trimestre). La procédure à suivre est la suivante :

  1. Vous devez d’abord en faire la demande, par lettre contresignée par votre directeur, au directeur des programmes.
  2. Après obtention de l’accord du directeur des programmes, vous devez former un comité dont les membres seront le responsable d’unité d’attache ou son représentant (président du comité), et un membre externe à l’unité d’attache. Ce comité doit être approuvé par le responsable de l’unité d’attache et le directeur des programmes.
    Formulaire de nomination de jury
  3. Vous devrez préparer un rapport de 15 pages à double interligne. Ce document se divise en deux parties: 10 pages sur l’avancement des travaux en cours et 5 pages sur votre projet de doctorat proposé (cette partie doit être développée principalement par vous-même).

Si vous avez soumis un article pour publication sur votre projet principal, cet article peut remplacer la première partie du travail. S’il s’agit d’un article à auteurs multiples, le directeur de recherche doit, par lettre, expliquer votre contribution.

Nous vous encourageons à présenter un travail soigné et bien organisé.

Ce travail doit être remis aux membres du comité ainsi qu’au directeur des programmes accompagné de votre curriculum vitae et de votre relevé de notes récent dans les deux semaines suivant la demande.

Le comité a ensuite deux semaines pour étudier votre dossier, faire une recommandation ou demander la tenue d’une présentation orale. Si vous rencontrez le comité avec une présentation orale et que le passage direct est recommandé, cette réunion tiendra lieu de premier comité de suivi. Si le passage direct est accepté sans présentation orale, vous devrez avoir un comité de suivi dans le trimestre qui suit votre passage. Le président doit ensuite faire une recommandation au directeur des programmes (court rapport qui sera mis à votre dossier).

Suite à cette recommandation, le directeur des programmes vous avisera de sa décision. Dans le cas d’une acceptation, vous devez faire une demande d’admission au doctorat. Dans le cas d’un refus, vous devez procéder à la rédaction de votre mémoire de maîtrise.

Bourses

Tous nos étudiants sont rémunérés sous forme de bourse. Vous serez également encouragés à faire des demandes de bourses externes pour étoffer votre C.V.

Modalités spécifiques au doctorat

La scolarité minimale au doctorat est de 6 trimestres. La scolarité maximale est de 5 ans.

Vous devrez avoir réalisé tous vos cours avant la fin du 5e trimestre d’inscription et votre examen général de synthèse avant la fin du 6e trimestre.

Ces modalités restent inchangées dans le cas d’un passage accéléré.

Statut d’inscriptions :

  • Temps plein : 6 trimestres
  • Rédaction : jusqu’au trimestre du dépôt de votre thèse de doctorat
  • Correction / évaluation : trimestre suivant votre dépôt

Veuillez consulter également le règlement pédagogique émis par la Faculté des études supérieures et postdoctorales.

This post is also available in: Anglais

© Programmes de biologie moléculaire - Faculté de médecine de l'Université de Montréal